The Liebster Award – my response and…wait, what? I’m breaking the rules?!

Image

Thank you to Dutch Guyana for nominating me for the Liebster Award! To be honest, I had no idea what the Liebster Award was, so I researched and it sounds quite fun, more than winning itself – so I thought I’d give it a go.

The rules are: publicly thank the person that nominated you; then, tell everyone 11 things about yourself. Answer the 11 questions asked of you, and, in turn, make 11 questions for your own 11 nominees.ย Link to those 11 nominees, and tell them about it at their blogs.

I might have to break the rules a little. Okay, maybe by quite a lot. Rules are meant to be broken, right? I’m not sure if I know of 11 bloggers who entice me to their blogs – I can hardly keep up with my own! (On that note, sorry for being MIA recently – I’ve been quite busy!) As I was saying, the blogs I follow aren’t really new; they’ve got quite a strong fan-base. So therefore, I’ll tell you 11 things about me, and I’ll answer the questions Dutch Guyana has set for me – but my nominations and questions for the nominees will have to be withheld for a little while until I find new blogs I think deserve to win!

So here are 11 things you may or may not know about me:

1) I’m a female of 21 years of age.

2) The first item of food I ever “cooked” was a boiled egg, at the age of four.

3) I’m studying a biology-related degree, but I’m on a placement at the moment.

4) The person who knows my deepest, darkest secret is my Mum!

5) My real name has 9 letters in it.

6) My favourite colour is white. Red is next.

7) The closest person in the world to me is my sister.

8) I have a fear of needles/anything that pierces the skin and humanoids.

9) I’m double-jointed.

10) I can speak Mandarin-Chinese fluently, as well as read and write.

11) I’m secretly addicted to the Kardashians.

And here are my answers to Dutch Guyana’s questions:

1) Describe yourself in an elevator pitch.

An incredibly crazy “fun-sponge”; mature yet childish, with a weird sense of humour. You’ll never be able to fully understand me.

2) How do you look back on yesterday?

A triumph. Since Saturday, I have had a chalazion on my left eye, that is incredibly painful. Working in a white-washed lab didn’t make it any easier so I’m quite glad I worked well, under the circumstances.

3) What are your plans for tomorrow?

I’ll be heading down to London after work, to see friends and family. Nothing too spectacular otherwise.

4) What will you do today?

Well, today has already finished…nearly. I could tell you what I did today, but it wasn’t fun, so I’ll leave it out.

5)ย What will bring a smile to your face at the mere mention of it? Is there a story behind that?

Riverside. It’s about 30 seconds from my house, but it’s my most favourite place. And there are a thousand stories relating to it!

6) What will get you angry just by thinking of it? Why?

Hmm, this is a good question. I try to not let things bug me too much nowadays, so off the top of my head, I can’t think of anything. Oh, I know. Ignorance. I severely dislike people who say they do not like/agree with/want something without knowing what it is.

7)ย Name a documentary that made a big impression on you? Why?

Anything with David Attenborough is pretty much amazing; he has that Morgan Freeman effect with talking about nature. Other than that, I really enjoyed the Food Unwrapped series, on Channel 4. It’s not really a documentary, but it was so interesting. I now know to make sure my tiger prawns have two eyes on them!

8)ย How would you suggest to end modern-day slavery?

Invent a powdery substance that induces thoughts of sunshine and rainbows into people’s brains, and deposit it into drinking water. By sunshine and rainbows, I mean a dose of happiness, sharing-is-caring-policy and we-are-one theory. In other words, I have no idea.

9) What are your thoughts on ‘world peace’.

There will never be any peace until everyone remembers that we belong to each other. Then again, there would be no peace if it weren’t for conflict.

10) Did you help Nature today? How? Why?

I threw my rubbish in the bin, instead of the floor. Does that count?

11) Do you have a cell phone? If so, what do you use it for?

I do have a mobile phone. I use it to keep in contact with everyone; text, call, social media etc – as well as the odd games here and there. It also comes in handy when I need directions getting somewhere. …oh, technology.

Wahey, all answered! I promise, when I find 11 new bloggers, who should be nominated for the Liebster Award, I’ll follow up another post and let them know, along with my questions!

Also, in response to my absence, I’ll be posting 5 new recipes and also give you an update on my chalazion, once I’m back from London. If the chalazion goes down before the 6 week mark I’ve been given, I’ll share what I did to you all. Sharing is caring! And if it doesn’t, I’ll do a post-surgery post.

Until next time (which will be sooner, rather than later hopefully), have an awesomesauce day!

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award – my response and…wait, what? I’m breaking the rules?!

Leave a Reply

